Letter to the President

President Barack Obama
The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue
Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Mr. President,

My name is Amanda Jane Hofstetter and I am a graduate student at The Corcoran College of Art + Design in Washington, D.C. I am writing to you to encourage you to please keep funding for Art programs in schools and after-care.

I learned at a very early age that art can truly make a difference in a child’s life. My first grade Art teacher, Mrs. Denise Levitine was someone that helped to make the difference in mine.

In first grade, I was the new kid and also struggling with reading, writing and mathematics. It was not that I wasn’t trying, no it was just the opposite. I tried so hard which inevitably made me take longer too. So I was put out in the dark hallway with my desk to finish my work. This created a lot of anxiety around school and I felt stupid. This changed when I met my art teacher, Mrs. Levitine.

When I came into the Art room though, I flourished! I could not get enough of art making. This really changed me in great ways. I found that I could do something right in school…make art and that was just the beginning!

Mrs. Levitine was such a joy to be around, I still remember her laugh and beautiful spirit in the classroom. She made such an impact on my life that I have chosen to do the same for other students by becoming an Art teacher.

My hope as a future Art teacher is that I will be able to rest easy by knowing the President feels the same about Art as I do. Please know that by funding Arts programs in schools and in after-care, you are making a big difference in the lives of children, children like me!

Without the love, time and attention that Mrs. Levitine gave to each of her students, including me, I would not be the woman I am today. A woman that is busting through barriers and taking leaps of faith along the way.

Thank you for taking the time to consider my request, Mr. President.

Sincerely,

Amanda Jane

Leave a Reply

